My first blog post!

Hello, everyone! Thank you so much for reading my blog! I’ll use this post to tell you all why I started this blog and what I plan to do with it.

In March 2016, I was awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant grant to Colombia for the 2016-2017 academic year and a few weeks later I found out I was placed in Bogota at the Universidad Colegio Mayor Cundinamarca for 10 months. I hope to use this blog to update my friends and family on my experiences in Bogota, Colombia and to help future Fulbright applicants and/or grantees to learn more about what it’s like to be a Fulbright ETA in Colombia.

ETAs assist English teachers in the classroom and hold several activities such as conversation clubs for both students and faculty, to enrich English language learning at schools around the world. I’ll be expected to dedicate 30 hours per week to my ETA duties, including lesson planning. Also, ETAs must spend 20 hours a week working on a community engagement project. Past projects have ranged from workshops on magic for marginalized youth to volunteer work with community organizations. I have a few ideas about what I want to do for my community project, such as leading classes that incorporate art and games for youth and teaching dance classes to teens. It will all depend on which organizations I can work with in Bogota.

If you’d like to know more about the Fulbright application process, please check out the drop down menu on the top right corner and you will find a page dedicated to explaining the application process.

So, now we’re in July 2016. I’m working in NYC and getting ready for my trip. I’ve contacted a few organizations that work with youth in Bogota and I hope to plant some seeds for my social project. In a week, I’m going on a cruise with my mom, which is exactly what I need after a year of teaching ESL, completing my Certificate in TESOL and my Master’s in International Affairs. I am so ready!

Once I get back, I’ll pack for Colombia, and then I’ll be off. My plan is to post on here at least once a month to keep track of my journey and reflect on the lessons I’ve learned on the ground.

DISCLAIMER: This blog is not an official US Department of State website. The views and information presented are of the author as a private citizen and do not represent the Fulbright Program or the US Department of State.

Leave a Reply

