Leaving in two days!

Ok, I’m freaking out. I can admit it. I leave in two days and I’m feeling all sorts of emotions in waves. This morning I woke up with lots of excitement right before remembering all of my anxieties. Ha! I’m trying to put those aside and say, yes I am anxious and slightly scared, but I am so excited and grateful for this opportunity. I can stay open to what’s to come, soak it all in and enjoy it, so I’m trying to stick to that.

Now, I’m about 90% packed (whatever that means). I just need to pack my hair dryer, my hair rollers and my suit. I’m crazy close to hitting the weight limit of my bags, but I’m going to take a look at everything again to see if there is anything I can leave behind. My mom is going to visit me in January, so she can bring me more of the products I’ll need. Colombia has a lot of the products we have here in the US, but there are a few specific products that I know are expensive, so I’m taking them (ie, contact lens solution, Cerave face lotion). What is taking some space are my books, but I need them, especially my English Language Teaching books! Here are the books I’ve packed:

  • Some of my ELT treasures: 700 Classroom Activities by David Seymour & Maria Popova, Tips for Teaching Pronunciation by Linda Lane, Teaching by Principles by H. Douglas Brown and Heekyeong Lee, Multilevel and Diverse Classrooms by Bradley Baurain and Phan Le Ha
  • A couple books on Colombian history: Blood and Fire by Mary Roldan and Poder y Violencia en Colombia by Fernan E. Gonzalez Gonzalez
  • The Zen of Fulbright by Thomas Burns (recommended by a fellow Fulbrighter). I love that this covers what to do before your grant, during your grant and after!
  • Shit Happens So Get Over it, Summersdale Publishers (has quotes such as “Even if you fall on your face, you’re still moving forward” -Robert Gallagher). Luckily this one is the size of my palm.
  • Two dance choreography books: The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp and The Viewpoints Book: A Practical Guide to Viewpoints and Composition by Anne Bogart and Tina Landau

I’m going to try to finalize this packing thing today so I can focus on doing my hair tomorrow (which is a lengthy process). After tomorrow, I’ll get on a plane to Bogota along with other Fulbrighters to embark on a new journey. Next week will be our orientation week, full of talks on Colombia and our duties as a Fulbright grantee, and then the following week will be spent on finding a room to rent and getting to know people at my university and stuff like that. Although I have some experience working in Colombia, living in Bogota is going to be new for me. I’m really excited to meet new people, to throw myself into a new environment and to do more ELT activities in a new setting. The next time I write on here, I’ll be in Colombia! Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Leaving in two days!

  1. Querida, this is so much fun to read! For now, I just want to know if it’s okay to forward this to dear friends in Houston. Juliana is from Bogota originally, and she and Stephen travel there often! I imagine that you’re settling in now. Felicitaciones!

    Like

Leave a Reply

